

International Initiative

Postbox 10 o5 11 • D-50445 Cologne Tel: +49-221-1 30 15 59 • Fax: +49-221-790 76 10 30 www.freedom-for-ocalan.com • info@freedom-for-ocalan.com

"Freedom for Abdullah Ocalan – Peace in Kurdistan"

5 December 2013

To the Family and Comrades of Igor Urrutikoetxea;

Today we are very much saddened with the sudden loss of Igor Urrutikoetxea. This is because he was not only the International Relations Secretary of LAB Basque trade union and member of the National Board and leader of the World Federation of trade Unions but a vibrant and caring human being who waged a struggle to make the world a better place.

Igor Urrutikoetxea was also a signatory to the Signature Campaign which the International Initiative -Freedom for Öcalan, Peace in Kurdistan- started for the 'Freedom of Abdullah Öcalan and all political prisoners'. He was an internationalist who supported a peaceful resolution to the Kurdish question over many years. He and his support in the long freedom struggle of the Kurdish people will not be forgotten.

We offer our condolences and wish strength to his family, Basque people and comrades at LAB and around the world.

May he rest in peace.

Yours Sincerely Havin Guneser On behalf of everyone at International Initiative "Freedom for Abdullah Öcalan - Peace in Kurdistan"

First Signatories

Mairead Corrigan-Maguire (Nobel Peace Prize, Ireland), Dario Fo (Nobel Prize in Literature, Italy), Adolfo Perez Esquivel (Nobel Peace Prize, Argentina), José Ramos-Horta (Nobel Peace Prize, East Timor), José Saramago (Nobel Prize in Literature, Portugal), **Danielle Mitterrand** (Foundation France Liberté, France), Ramsey Clark (form. Attorney General, USA), Uri Avnery (Gush Shalom, Israel), Noam Chomsky (Linguist, Publicist, MIT, USA), Alain Lipietz (MEP, France), Pedro Marset Campos (MEP, Spain), Lord Eric Avebury (House of Lords, UK), Harry Cohen (MP Labour, UK), Cynog Dafis (MP Plaid Cymru, Wales, UK), Lord Raymond Hylton (House of Lords, UK), Lord John Nicholas Rea (House of Lords, UK), Walid Jumblatt (Leader of the Progessive Socialist Party, Lebanon), Rudi Vis (MP Labour, UK) Paul Flynn (MP Labour, UK), Máiréad Keane (Sinn Fein, Northern Ireland), Domenico Gallo (form. Senator, Italy), Livio Pepino (Magistratura Democratica, Italien), Xabier Arzalluz (President PNV, Spain), Tony Benn (MP Labour, UK), Alain Calles (President MRAP, France), Gianna Nannini (Singer-songwriter, Italy), Geraldine Chaplin (Actress, Spain), David MacDowall (Writer, UK), Dietrich Kittner (Cabaret artist, Germany), Alice Walker (Writer, USA), Franca Rame (Writer and actress, Italy), Chris Kutschera (Writer, France), Prof. Dr. Jean Ziegler (MP and Publicist, Switzerland), Prof. Dr. Angela Davis (University of California, Santa Cruz, USA), Prof. Dr. Norman Paech (International Law, Germany), Prof. Dr. Werner Ruf (International Law, Germany), Prof. Dr. **Gerhard Stuby** (International Law, Germany), Hans Branscheidt (medico international, Germany)